“I represent you”

Word life gifted and bestowed existence tested so we display what we are made of single parent families so in youth we drifted
searching but we have not the right questions so the answers we sought were blurred sitting sideways life was tilted
long and hard I fought the resistance silent until I found my voice
tired of the deceit & hypocrisy rooted in history took the boat back to Africa
reaching back because I never forgot you…
soldiering for truth because it’s my choice
brief vacations to facilities of correction so many of the youth but America has always been the prison…permanently flawed along with prejudice mounts the insurrection in a life held back from subjected oppression
where is the light that will shed light on my direction?
escape to alternate states of numbness tired of shedding tears in confusion; violent from frustration
tunnel vision seeing nothing else of value in life’s wisdoms
Ignored what the world wanted for me studied and pushed forward with persistence
swallowed fear so it’s become a sixth sense
day to day battle with darkness
cash isn’t everything…but nothing else seems move but the money around me so we give chase responsibilities don’t seize constantly feeling the pressure
hatred of self…clan against clan the house is divided while the millionaire brags of his possessions
written and distributed in printed ink these are my confessions
hearts still attached over time and distance I represent you and this struggle to exist
but this is the plan the almighty has for us so stay strong and bear it with patience… the heavenly home eternity awaits us…
look deep into the hearts of men hypocrites’ sow discord and do injustices
implanted spies & cancers undoing progress severe their company and change your reference Insha’Allah we will have each other in the end only the best of us…

Sayyar Ismail swift “I represent you” copyright 2014

Published by

sayyarismail

Author/Poet grew up to U.S.born parents but me myself not born in the U.S. Al-Maghib (Morocco) is home I like to think that we all aren't bad HUMAN BEINGS...and express myself openly mainly through poetry Confined to reality...I write about experiences, current affairs, political science & historical views with researched detail (is always the aim)... I don't seek to tear anyone or any particular group down...instead re-build falsehood on truth. Insha'allah in the process people will find something good in my work and that for me is enough...

Leave a Reply

