Dear Mom…

Any attempt is insufficient love and appreciation for your sacrifices I will never forget forever hold you close

Words follow my heart the mind filled with thoughts vivid like yesterday’s activities send signals for the hand to grasp the pencil

Transfer of words onto paper manifestation the heart poured out 

Lent to the reader 

Embodiment of a truly remarkable leader

Allah/God chose you to be the door of my physical existence raising me you taught me so many things our relationship incredible

If I left the house you would call me back just to kiss you,

Unforgettable

I never met anyone like you

My friends bore witness “your mom speaks to you that way” “you all talk about everything”??  I wish my mom did the same…just scratching the surface to our relationship beyond amazing

I’m Selfish of you I don’t share too much

Envisioning a Villa you transform our dwelling to keep us close

Instead of going out often just stayed home

Mother to the neighborhood the yard was green with love

Everything you planted flourished

Seeds within me took root now trees your words the canopy providing shelter for me today in the shade of wisdom…

I did as you told me 

So many secrets between us you shared I see and understand your tone of voice

People and things your insight was so right my life now following the inspiration of your choice

Going against the grain not afraid to stand alone you were a warrior I witnessed your strength in life and death I know what you tolerated for so many years;

You had every good reason…

I would stand not yet a man to protect you

Wise I would ponder for years over the conversations we had still those words hold true…

Curses upon people misery vying for company I have separated don’t follow in the evil you pointed out predicting the shallowness of people your advice was always accurate but not judgmental… I have stuck to that advice and the Lord guides me

Alone with my wife now I wished you could meet her special she still calls you mother

in her beautiful accent I know you would smile with a big laugh while embracing her

I protect her as I did you a new life I returned to our ancestral home Jeddah often talked about

a new beginning I now write my thoughts do gods work something your own father carried out

the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree I’m happy with this life I have been blessed did you hear me when I paid you a visit before I left…

Charlie would say tooshay if he saw me today

I laugh and remember all the practical jokes the house full of laughter moments shared countryside backdrop escape from the city I miss that place…

Peace is priceless yet you purchased yours picture window peers out before dawn ignorance not yet awoken

The best time of any day I do the same from my rooftop table and garden

Memories shared provoking thought instilling confidence

Spend time with the creator before I start my day each day

The rooster crows at the magnificence of Malaikah (angels) the door of forgiveness is open and offered contemplation of our mortality

Mind in the heavens held by inspired thought

Firmly grounded in this reality;

Transcendence above stigmas stereotypes & bigotry that amaze me…

Don’t blind follow lead you told me, think for myself instead of the interpretation read all the time something we shared?

Do a lot of research and found a lot answers we both were in search for… It’s amazing the little things you ingrained are huge today the best upbringing I could ask for

Never did you bad mouth others to us instead you left it for us to see

They will need me before I ever need them

What goes around comes back around and when it did you showed me

He who laughs last always laughs best constantly teaching me

Parables with examples I hope I earned my degree

I have come a long way with the pain spent years upset… detached couldn’t sit, sold the house and spent

12 years homeless I wondered without a destination the open road was the only place I felt free night air dark skies sprinkled with diamonds reference to the motion of the ground slowed me never could I catch the brightest of them…

No one can fill your shoes instead Allah has given me…

The Wisdoms of why things take place to many questions answers finally…

Constantly making inventory of the company I keep

Flushing the toilet when ever need be

Ridding myself of wasteful company

I love that analogy you gave me

Dates a part of my diet regular mother never constipated

I eat good and take care of me now 43…

Keep mostly to myself these days its best trust and integrity

These characteristics have left people addicted to reality TV and hypocrisy

I have too much of you in me quick to speak

Loose tongue I hate to see oppression in any form

Inspiration comes spend hours in thought practice the calligraphy you taught me

Writing the Arabic letters who knew that you making me do that would later help me

QadrAllah is amazing the journey given me is second to none I have so many things to tell you places I have been I want to show you

Allahu Alim what lies ahead, I pray for the best prepared for anything life’s test accept what befalls me I hope you are proud of me…

 

Sayyar Isma’il  “Mother” copyright 2014

Published by

sayyarismail

Author/Poet grew up to U.S.born parents but me myself not born in the U.S. Al-Maghib (Morocco) is home I like to think that we all aren't bad HUMAN BEINGS...and express myself openly mainly through poetry Confined to reality...I write about experiences, current affairs, political science & historical views with researched detail (is always the aim)... I don't seek to tear anyone or any particular group down...instead re-build falsehood on truth. Insha'allah in the process people will find something good in my work and that for me is enough...

Leave a Reply

